Volunteer Recognition

HOBY’s success is a direct result of the hundreds of volunteers who serve key leadership roles on its corporate boards and program committees.

HOBY proudly recognizes the outstanding accomplishments of its affiliates and volunteers throughvolunteer achievement awards. Key volunteers in the positions of Corporation President, Leadership Seminar Chairperson, Alumni Advisor and CLeW Director are invited to apply for an award in each of their categories in July. In addition, all volunteers are encouraged to nominate individuals for the HOBY Volunteer of the Year Award, presented to two volunteers selected by a committee of peers. Special certificates are also awarded.

Below is a listing of the 2017 award winners. HOBY is grateful to all of the men and women who generously contribute their time, efforts, talents and enthusiasm to make HOBY’s leadership programs for youth possible.

Download the 2017 Award List to find out more about the winners (PDF)

Download more information about the HOBY Award Categories (PDF)

Volunteer of the Year Awards

Two volunteers are recognized annually as HOBY’s "Volunteers of the Year." Applications are taken through a formal nomination process and recognition is given based upon years of service, contributions to HOBY, nominator’s written comments, and other community service involvement. Recipients are announced at the annual volunteer Training Institute.

Sue Davis, Delaware

Hunter Corhern, Mississippi

Download a list of past Volunteer of the Year Award winners (PDF)

2017 Anniversary Certificates

Certificates are awarded to the Leadership Seminars celebrating their 40th anniversary

  • Delaware
  • Illinois
  • New Jersey
  • Rhode Island

Certificates are awarded to the Leadership Seminars celebrating their 35th anniversary

  • Alaska
  • Washington, D.C.
  • Idaho
  • New Mexico
  • Vermont
  • Canada

2017 Outstanding Leadership Seminar Program Book Award

  • First Place: Texas Far West
  • Second Place: Ohio South
  • Third Place: New York East
  • Fourth Place: Southwest Ohio

2017 Outstanding Website Award

  • First Place: Pennsylvania Central
  • Second Place: Maryland
  • Third Place: New Hampshire 



2017 Volunteers - Years of Service

10 Years of Service

  • Tara Addison
  • Vincent Anderson
  • Lauren Archer
  • Daniele Baierlein
  • Kirk Bell
  • Andrew Bergeron
  • Shelley Bertino
  • Dustin Blankenship
  • Connor Brady
  • Kateri Brown
  • Breanna Cannon
  • David Charles
  • Brian Deegan
  • Whitney DiFoggio
  • Erin Dorozynski
  • Katrina Dvorak
  • Jennifer Fandl
  • Rachel Fielding
  • Espi Gonzalez
  • Bradley Gordon
  • Kimber Guinn
  • Shelby Hadden
  • Karen Hartley
  • Jake Helmeset
  • Sarah Hovick
  • Matthew Keating
  • Justine Keller
  • Kelsey Kendall
  • Jaclyn King
  • Krista Kobeski
  • Emily Limarzi
  • Sarah Linn
  • Blake Lynch
  • Christopher Madaras
  • Olivia Marik-Reis
  • Lauren Masterson
  • Eric McElwain
  • Terrance McNally
  • Courtney Meyer
  • Sierra Mision
  • Andrew Moreno
  • Alex Murphy
  • John Murphy
  • Mark Napierkowski
  • Renee Orrantia
  • Edward Pettitt
  • Monique Pham
  • Jody Redmann
  • Jeanette Reed
  • Gage Rodriguez
  • Renee Rushefski
  • Martha Saunders
  • Timothy Schlegel
  • Anne Schneider
  • Renee Shipko
  • Jessica Shirkey
  • Peter Sidoti
  • Sarah Smith
  • Karla Sordia Lozano
  • Dixon Speaker
  • Brett Stacer
  • Melissa Treinen
  • Abigail Walsh
  • Reginald Waters
  • Michael Zaydon

15 Years of Service

  • Rachel Berger Maslow
  • Sarah Burke
  • David DeAngelis
  • Patrick Ditty
  • Marcus Edwards
  • Gail Elmore
  • Sandra Licata
  • Jonathan McKenzie
  • Meghan Medwid
  • Christine Miloro
  • Alan Moore
  • Amber Przybysz
  • Jimmy Shang
  • Joshua Shearer
  • Andres Tejeda Soto
  • Nickolas Zimmerman

20 Years of Service

  • Lena Darnay
  • Andrew DeBerry
  • Craig Heidemann
  • Theresa Macalisang
  • James Prout
  • Patricia Randleel
  • Meghan Schmidbauer

25 Years of Service

  • Randy Kurek
  • Heather Myers
  • Ronald Vero 

30 Years of Service

  • Amy Atkinson
  • Donna Fife
  • Joe Stuelpe
  • Warner White
  • Brian Yee





@HOBY on Twitter