Outstanding Young Alumni Award


Nominate a HOBY alumnus for the 2018 Outstanding Young Alumni Award!

The HOBY Outstanding Young Alumni Award was created to recognize and honor HOBY alumni ages 25 and under for their outstanding accomplishments and service.

Recipients of this award have distinguished themselves as impactful leaders, having served in their schools, neighborhoods, and communities, started their own non-profits, and made a significant difference in the lives of others because of their HOBY experience.

Two Outstanding Young Alumni will be selected to receive this prestigious award at HOBY's 2018 Albert Schweitzer Leadership Awards Gala in New York City. This event will take place at the New York Athletic Club on May 30, 2018.

Who Qualifies?

        Alumni who will be 25 or under by May 30, 2018 who have:

  • Attended a Leadership Seminar, WLC, ALA, CLeW, or were an International Tour participant* and
  • Have completed a minimum of 100 Leadership for Service hours*
        *All information must be verifiable 

The Prize:

  • Trip for two to New York (including airfare within the U.S.) and one hotel room at the New York Athletic Club the evening of the gala (May 30, 2018)
  • Four tickets (the honoree plus three guests) to the HOBY Albert Schweitzer Leadership Awards Gala in New York (valued at $500+)
  • $500 to be used either toward college/university tuition to continue education or to donate to a non-profit of choice

Key Dates:

  • Submit your nomination form by January 22, 2018. Anyone may nominate an alumnus or you may nominate yourself
  • Winners may be notified as early as February 13, 2018
  • Winners must be present at the Gala to accept their award

What You'll Need:

  • Nominee’s personal information and photos
  • Enough time to answer application questions
  • Two-minute video highlighting nominee's accomplishments


Click Here to nominate an alumnus today!


Past recipients of the HOBY Outstanding Young Alumni Award


  • Marta Belcher, HOBY California Los Angeles, 2006
  • Abigail Wheeler, HOBY California Central & WLC, 2009
  • Joshua Ford, HOBY New York West & World Leadership Congress, 2005
  • Michael Young, HOBY Arizona & World Leadership Congress, 2009


  • Beth Awalt, HOBY Maryland, 2004
  • Kevin Chaves, HOBY New York, 2012


  • Virginia Newsome, HOBY Kentucky, 2011
  • Sara Surani, HOBY Texas, 2012


  • Sonya Stanczyk, HOBY Connecticut, 2012
  • Sydney Kamen, HOBY Washington, DC, 2013
  • Connor Brady, HOBY North Carolina, 2008
  • Juan David Aristizabal, HOBY World Leadership Congress, 2005


  • Katherine Middleton, HOBY Ohio South, 2007
  • Vishnu Nistala, HOBY Ohio North, 2014
  • O. Falade, HOBY Florida Mid & World Leadership Congress, 2008
  • Jill Durso, HOBY Connecticut, 2013


  • Annie Dempsey, HOBY Georgia, 2014
  • Max Rubenstein, HOBY Georgia North West, 2016
  • Niharika Vattikonda, HOBY Virginia, 2016
  • Emmah Bowers, HOBY Pennsylvania Central, 2015


  • Brandon Harris, HOBY Maryland, 2016